Saturday, 8 September 2012

Ernakulam-Thrissur MEMU Timings.

Ernakulam-Thrissur MEMU at Karukutty railway station

The much-awaited Ernakulam-Thrissur Mainline Electrical Multiple Unit (MEMU) was flagged off by Union Minister of State for Food and Civil Supplies K V Thomas at Ernakulam Junction Station on Saturday. The MEMU will conduct service on all days except Tuesdays.

New Thrissur - Ernakulam MEMU Train Timings.

The rake will be taken to Palakkad for repair on Tuesdays. As per the railway timetable, the train will start journey from Thrissur railway station at 10.50 am and reach Ernakulam at 12.55 pm.

At 2.30 pm, the train will start its return journey from Ernakulam to Thrissur. The train will have stops at Ollur, Puthukkad, Nellayi, Irinjalikkuda, Challakkudy, Divine Nagar, Koratty,Karukutty, Angamaly, Chowara, Aluva, Kalamassery, Ernakulam North and South stations.

What is MEMU?

MEMU is a commuter rail system in India operated by the Indian Railway.
The system uses Mainline Electrical Multiple Units (MEMU) operating on Alternating Current (AC) drawn from over-head cables through the catenary system.

Main diffrence between MEMU and Passenger train is in speed. Memu runs on 100 Km/h, while passenger with 60 Km/h.
The MEMU service is envisaged to cater to short distance commuters with the aim of weaning them away from long distance trains. These services were to replace passenger trains operating in the stretch. But, Railways have decided not to withdraw the passenger trains.

Ernakulam Thrissur memu timings. Table

10.45 am
10.57 am
11.06 am
11.12 am
11.19 am
11.27 am
Divine Nagar
11.31 am
Koratti Nagar
11.36 am
11.41 am
Angamaly for Kalady
11.47 am
11.53 am
11.59 am
12.07 pm
12.15 pm
Ernakulam Town(North)
12.29 pm
Ernakulam Junction(South)
12.55 pm

Inaugural Run by MEMU